Well if No One Else’s Gonna Be First. . . .

I wanna play this.

About Bradley J. Fest

Bradley J. Fest is assistant professor of English at Hartwick College. He is the author of two books of poetry, The Rocking Chair (Blue Sketch, 2015) and The Shape of Things (Salò, 2017), and has published a number of essays on contemporary literature and culture. He blogs at The Hyperarchival Parallax.
This entry was posted in Narrative, Videogames and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well if No One Else’s Gonna Be First. . . .

  1. exelsisxax says:

    So did I, until I they released information about the game being a lonely thing where you are constantly pushed deeper and deeper towards the galactic core. Some threat looms on the horizon, and yet you have no friends at your back or place to call your own. An infinite universe, yet one empty of anything that can truly build up long term or emergent gameplay. They almost completely cut the multiplayer aspect. No galactic corporations, multi-system pirate guilds, or even inter-system nations. But you might be able to see a ship that someone crashed into a planet… maybe.

    It’s like minecraft, but with no chat capability, and the servers just randomly dump you into someone else’s vicinity 5% of the time. So, actually just Sojourn in space that clashes horribly and (now I’m just assuming here) also doesn’t have the visual and audio ascetic to back it all up.

    Or maybe I’m just a pessimist and manipulating the situation so that I don’t get overhyped for yet another game. Even a game that has Dune sandworms. I mean, uh, totally original giant desert worms.

    Like

  2. jmc211 says:

    This is my first time hearing about No Man’s Sky, and it definitely looks like something I would enjoy. What I find most interesting is that the game is procedurally generated, meaning that the content is generated with an algorithm, and will be different for each user. I’ve played games using this on PC, but am interested to see it done well on a console. This gets rid of the problem of there not being enough content in the game, with an endless number of possible planets to explore.

    While multiplayer is great, I don’t feel like the lack of it would take away from my experience. The setting is one that I am very interested in; traveling through space in a video game. Never knowing what the next place will look like makes it feel like real exploration. I’m also not sure if multiplayer would be possible for a game like this. There would have to be areas of the game that are the same for everyone involved, instead of the generated content.

    Like

  3. I’m actually quite enamored with what sounds like a cold, lonely universe. I think this might actually be a strength for the game. As Sartre said, “Hell is other people,” and anyone who’s played WoW or other MMOs can testify to this.

    Like

  4. Steph Roman says:

    5. Billion. Years.

    That’s how long the developers wager it will take a single person to explore every planet in the game. It’s going to be so insane. Plus, so far the visuals and score are incredible (I got painfully excited to see dinosaur-like creatures in this trailer). I’m raring to get my hands on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

