Soundtrack for Protocol

I was having a bit of a nostalgic evening listening to The Faint’s Danse Macabre (2001), and I was reminded of this remix of their song “The Conductor,” which makes a good soundtrack for Alexander R. Galloway’s Protocol (2004). The remix is by Thin White Duke, and the remix’s title is “Home Alone Refix.” As my partner said, “this sounds like the anthem of the digital age.”

About Bradley J. Fest

Bradley J. Fest is assistant professor of English at Hartwick College. He is the author of two books of poetry, The Rocking Chair (Blue Sketch, 2015) and The Shape of Things (Salò, 2017), and has published a number of essays on contemporary literature and culture. He blogs at The Hyperarchival Parallax.
This entry was posted in General Interest, Information Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soundtrack for Protocol

  1. elexiusmusick says:

    Haha, I like it. It took me a minute to realize that it was repeating “control,” and not just some random sounds. I definitely can see something in that alone, the idea that by the time you realize that you’re surrounded by control, it’s too late. Of course, the reason I got that it was saying “control” a bit late is probably just because I have an auditory processing disorder. But it’s certainly interesting.

    I make documentaries and short films, and I was zoning out and imagining what the trailer to a movie version of the Circle would be like. What song(s) would play? What scenes would be captured? How would it begin? Someone with a better budget and more time than I have needs to do this.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Soundtracks to The Circle: PC Music and Panopticon Pop | Narrative and Technology Fall 2014

Leave a Reply

